Skip Navigation








This table is used for column layout.

Databases


ACCESSING THE ON-LINE DATABASES: If you are connecting from a location outside of the Library, some of the databases will prompt you for your J.V. Fletcher Library Card Number to log onto the databases. When connecting, type in your Library barcode number without any spaces between the digits.



GATEWAY TO GALE REFERENCE EBOOKS: Access a variety of Reference Ebooks on the Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, the Nation and the World, Religion, Science, and Social Science. You will be prompted for your Library card if you are trying to access from locations outside of the Library.




GENERAL RESEARCH                                                

Biography in Context   Connect from Home or the Library
Search biographical information for literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events, and the arts.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP Connect from Home or the Library
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. This database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.  Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers, many with full text images. If you are looking for Consumer Reports, please scroll down to "Consumer Information" and connect to our new "Consumer Reports" database.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home
Over 50 full text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.


General Reference Center Gold  Connect from Home or the Library
Search full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books containing information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.







AUTO REPAIR  
                                                
Auto Repair Reference Center  Connect from the Library|  Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.





BOOKS AND LITERARY CRITICISM                    

Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian’s favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. This database answers the question- "What do I read next?"

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select-Infotrac Connect from Home or the Library
An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors.  Contains biographical information, list of written works, criticism, and sources for further study.

eSequels-The Online Guide to Series Fiction  Connect from Home or the Library (Enter your Westford Library card number)
You no longer have to guess at the order of a particular adult fiction series! Search by author, title, character, location, subject, or keyword.  Series are listed in order and annotations of the titles are provided.  Check out "What's New" and click on "Forthcoming" or "New Adds" to see newly added titles/series or to find out what will be published by your favorite series author in the upcoming months.

 Gateway To Gale Reference EBOOKS: Access a variety of Reference Ebooks on the Arts, Biography, Business, Environment, General Reference, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, the Nation and the World, Religion, Science, and Social Science. You will be prompted for your Library card if you are trying to access from locations outside of the Library.

Great American Authors  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home   (Enter your Westford Library card number) A user-friendly resource that introduces rea ders to the lives and works of nearly one hundred of the most talented North American writers of the present and the past.

Great World Writers Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
The lives and works of nearly one hundred of the most influential international writers of the modern era, whose origins range from Britain
to South Africa, from Japan to Poland, and dozens of nations in between.

Literature Resource Center   Connect from Home or the Library
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

A reader's advisory database which helps readers find lists of works by a particular author, helps identify similar authors and titles, series lists, and selected book discussion guides.

Popular Contemporary Writers  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
The lives and works of nearly one hundred of the world's most read contemporary authors.





BUSINESS AND FINANCE                                                                            

Business Insights:Essentials Connect from Home or the Library
Business Insights:Essentials is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.Search this electronic resource to find detailed company and industry news and information.


Business Directory- United States/Reference USA Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory containing over 14 million U.S. businesses.

Canadian Business Directory/ Reference USA Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory containing over 1.5 million Canadian businesses.

CorpTech Directory/Reference USA  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Access detailed information on executives at 95,000 high tech companies.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home
Over 20 full text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

General Business File-Infotrac Connect from Home or the Library
Research the latest trends in management, economics, and company performance.  Access the full-text of trade publications, journals,
newspapers and more.

Global Road Warrior Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
The Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive travel and business culture reference covering 175 countries. Business travelers, students, and travel planners, who need extensive coverage of these topics will find the most up-to-date information available in a highly organized and consistent format.

Value Line Investment Survey and Small and Mid Cap Edition Database
Connect from the Library   |  Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number and password)

The Weekly Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world.  Its up-to-date issues are a comprehensive reference that has useful information for virtually every investor. Every week, about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries are covered.  The Small and Mid-Cap Edition features consensus earnings estimates for many companies, a business description of each company, including recent corporate developments, and Value Line's Performance Ranks, designed to predict relative price performance over the next six to 12 months.  In addition to coming into the Library each week to read the print edition, Westford card holders can now access the full editions on-line through this exciting new database!






CAREERS                                                 

Cypress Resume Connect from Home or the Library (Enter your Westford Library card number)
A resume building database which quickly helps you create a professional looking resume and cover letter in a matter of minutes.
1. Enter your name, contact information, work history and education.  2.Choose the title of your desired job or simply the skill set you wish to highlight. 3.  Finally, choose from a collection of concise and professional job statements.


Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Profiles over 2,000 jobs in 90+ industries. Find in-depth job descriptions, job specific resource listings, industry descriptions, career preparation information, and web resources.

Universal Class  First Time Users-Register Here |Returning Users-Sign in Now
Westford card holders have access to Universal Class which provides over 500 FREE on-line Continuing Education Courses! Take an on-line class on Career Development, Early Childhood Development, Domestic Violence Counseling,  Basic Accounting, Microsoft Excel, GED Training, Home Ownership, How to Can, Freeze, Dry, and Preserve Food, Italian Cooking, and so many more!  These are non-credit courses for personal enrichment.  You can enroll in up to 5 courses at a time and you have six months to complete the class. Access your course and complete assignments any time day or night.  Each course has a real instructor who you can communicate with via e-mail.





CONSUMER INFORMATION

Boston Consumers' Checkbook Connect from the Library This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.  Nonprofit Consumers' Checkbook provides unbiased customer ratings and comments for local home repair services (plumbers, roofers, etc.), auto repair, health care providers, stores, veterinarians, and much more.

Consumer Reports Online  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number and select Consumer Reports)
Search 1000+ ratings, reviews, expert buying advice, product comparisons, consumer user reviews, and product video clips on everything from baby gear to SUVs.




COUNTRY STUDIES

Global Road Warrior Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
The Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive travel and business culture reference covering 175 countries. Business travelers, students, travel planners, international communicators and businesspeople who need extensive coverage of these topics will find the most up-to-date information available in a highly organized and consistent format.






DICTIONARIES AND GENERAL ENCYCLOPEDIAS                  

Encyclopedia Britannica  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Explore the updated online encylopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.





DIRECTORIES

Business Directory- United States/Reference USA Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory containing over 14 million U.S. businesses.

Canadian Business Directory/ Reference USA Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory containing over 1.5 million Canadian businesses.

Canadian Residential Directory  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory of over 12 million Canadian residents.

CorpTech Directory/Reference USA Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Access detailed information on executives at 95,000 high tech companies.

Healthcare Directory/Reference USA   Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Large directory of doctors and dentists throughout the U.S.

U.S. Residential Directory  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number) Search this database of 135 million U.S. residents to conduct market research or locate family and friends.




EDUCATION

EDUCATOR'S REFERENCE COMPLETE Connect from Home or the Library
A collection of periodicals and reports for educational research from preschool to college covering technology, health, and bilingual education, testing, and issues in administration, funding, and policy.





GENEALOGY                                               

Access Newspaper Archive  Connect from the Library|This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library. Contains the full text of thousands of historical newspapers (including the Lowell Sun from 1879-2007 and the Boston Globe from 1903-1922) from Massachusetts, the United States, and some foreign countries.

American Ancestors (formerly called New England Ancestors)  Connect from the Library|This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
Search a variety of genealogical resources specific to New England including: Massachusetts Vital Records through 1910, New York Probate Records (1787-1835), Social Security Death Index, church records, census, tax, and voter lists, diaries and journals, land records, military records, and published genealogies and biographies.

America's Obituaries and Death Notices Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search a large collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.  Includes obituaries from the Boston Globe (1980-present) as well as many other newspapers from around the country.

Ancestry.com Library Edition Connect from the Library | This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
This extensive genealogy database includes over 1.5 billion names.  Search records from the U.S. census, military records, court, land, and probate records, vital and church records, passenger lists, and more!

Boston Globe Historical Archives (1872-1981) Connect from the Library | This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
Includes full-text and article images from 1872-1981. To search the full text of the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present, please scroll down and log onto "Massachusetts Newspapers- Proquest".

HeritageQuest Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
This genealogy database includes the U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, vital records, city directories, land and probate records, genealogical and local history serials and more!







HEALTH AND MEDICINE                                             

Food and Nutrition  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
A comprehensive resource designed to help people make healthful and safe personal choices about all aspects of food and nutrition.

Healthcare Directory/Reference USA   Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Large directory of doctors and dentists throughout the U.S.

Health Reference Center Academic Connect from Home or the Library.
Search the full text of nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, medical reference books, and health pamphlets.

Health and Wellness Resource Center  Connect from Home or the Library
Search health/medical journals, pamphlets, health related videos, and selected reference titles.

Magill's Medical Guide Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Magill's "Medical Guide" is designed to "bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides." Covering diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology and issues; recent developments are discussed. More than 1,000 essays ranging in length from 500 to 3,500 words are illustrated with more than 400 photographs and illustrations such as "The Major Bones of the Human Skeleton."

Salem Health Cancer  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
An A to Z encyclopedia for patients, with information about 835 topics in cancer. Coverage includes diseases, conditions, medications, procedures, specialists, social issues, personal coping tips, print and online academic resources, and support resources.





HISTORY AND SOCIAL STUDIES
                                                
Ancient and Medieval World   Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
An absorbing resource that examines world history from the emergence of the earliest humans about two million years ago through the end of the middle ages.

Biography in Context   Connect from Home or the Library
Search biographical information for literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events, and the arts.

Boston Globe Historical Archives (1872-1979) Connect from the Library | This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
Includes full-text and article images from 1872-1979.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home
Over 20 full text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

General Reference Center Gold  Connect from Home or the Library
Search full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books containing information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.

Global Issues In Context  Connect from Home or the Library
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.

Massachusetts History Online Connect from Home or the Library
Contains full text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts.

New England Historical Genealogical Society  Connect from the Library | This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
Search a variety of genealogical resources specific to New England including: Massachusetts Vital Records through 1910, New York Probate Records (1787-1835), Social Security Death Index, church records, census, tax, and voter lists, diaries and journals, land records, military records, and published genealogies and biographies.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Connect from Home or the Library
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Salem Press History   Connect from the Library |  Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Salem Reference sets: The Fifities, Sixties, Seventies, Eighties, and Nineties in America, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, Milestone Documents in American History (inlcudes primary documents), Milestone Documents of American Leaders (includes primary documents), and Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century. Once you are in the database, click on BOOKS to see the full listing of resources included in the database.

Sharpe U.S. History and Culture Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Sharpe Reference sets Colonial Amercia, Encyclopedia of American Folklife, Encyclopedia of American Social Movements,  Encyclopedia of the Gilded and Age and Progressive Era, Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age, Postwar America, and Social Issues in America.

U.S. History in Context Connect from Home or the Library
Contents include U.S. historical topics from pre-colonial times to the present. Search a broad collection of U.S. facts, primary documents, full text journals, and articles from a variety of reference works.

World History in Context Connect from Home or the Library
Contents include information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.  Search articles, reference books, primary source documents, newspapers, etc.




LANGUAGE LEARNING

Transparent Language Online  Access from Home or the Library  (Enter your Westford Library card number to access from home) You will be prompted to set up a username and password to create an account so that your lessons will be saved. A powerful language-learning service with over 90 language options. It uses flashcards to teach you a set of words or phrases and features listening, reading, speaking, and writing exercises, as well as integrated pronunciation analysis, vocabulary acquisition exercises, conversational language courses, video grammar lessons, and a robust social community.  Use the “Go Mobile” button to access on Ipads, Ipods, Iphones, and Androids.





MUSICIANS AND COMPOSERS

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Biographical and critical essays on the men and women who made an impact on music from 1901 to 2000. Once you are in the database, click on BOOKS to see the full listing of resources included in the database.





NEWS AND NEWSPAPERS                             

Access Newspaper Archive  Connect from the Library|This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library. Contains the full text of thousands of historical newspapers (including the Lowell Sun from 1879-2007 and the Boston Globe from 1903-1922) from Massachusetts, the United States, and some foreign countries.

America's Obituaries and Death Notices Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search a large collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.  Includes obituaries from the Boston Globe (1980-present) as well as many other newspapers from around the country.

Search the full text of The Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.

Boston Globe Historical Archives (1872-1981) Connect from the Library | This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
Includes full-text and article images from 1872-1981. To search the full text of the Boston Globe from 1980 to the present, please scroll down and log onto "Massachusetts Newspapers- Proquest".

Boston Herald   Connect from Home or the Library (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Boston Herald from 7/26/1991 to the present.

Lowell Sun Connect from Home or the Library (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of The Lowell Sun from 2001 to the present.

Search the full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present.

Westford Eagle  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Westford Eagle from 8/11/2005 to the present.





NON-ENGLISH LANGUAGE

Informe! (Revistas in Espanol)  Connect from Home or the Library
The first Reference database to provide indexing, full-text, and images of the most popular Hispanic magazines.




OBITUARIES

America's Obituaries and Death Notices Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search a large collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.  Includes obituaries from the Boston Globe (1980-present) as well as many other newspapers from around the country.





ON-LINE COURSES

Universal Class  First Time Users-Register Here |Returning Users-Sign in Now
Westford card holders have access to Universal Class which provides over 500 FREE on-line Continuing Education Courses! Take an on-line class on Career Development, Early Childhood Development, Domestic Violence Counseling,  Basic Accounting, Microsoft Excel, GED Training, Home Ownership, How to Can, Freeze, Dry, and Preserve Food, Italian Cooking, and so many more!  These are non-credit courses for personal enrichment.  You can enroll in up to 5 courses at a time and you have six months to complete the class. Access your course and complete assignments any time day or night.  Each course has a real instructor who you can communicate with via e-mail.





SCIENCE

Biography in Context   Connect from Home or the Library
Search biographical information for literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events, and the arts.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP Connect from Home or the Library
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. This database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.  Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers, many with full text images.

Find information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.  Search full text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and more.






TECHNOLOGY

Safari Books  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Access the full text of over 5,000 technology books on a variety of topics including programming, databases, web design, etc.  The books all have publication dates within the last three years and are published by major technology publishers such as Cisco Press, IBM PRess, O'Reilly, Prentice Hall, and many more.




TEST TAKING

Learning Express Library  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number.)
Practice taking the SAT, AP exams, civil service exams, real estate, middle school skills improvement, resume and interviewing success skills, and much more.  You will be prompted to set up a username and password to save your tests from session to session.




TRAVEL

Global Road Warrior Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
The Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive travel and business culture reference covering 175 countries. Business travelers, students, and travel planners, who need extensive coverage of these topics will find the most up-to-date information available in a highly organized and consistent format.






YOUTH ORIENTED


Global Issues In Context  Connect from Home or the Library
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.

Global Road Warrior Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
The Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive travel and business culture reference covering 175 countries. Business travelers, students, and travel planners, who need extensive coverage of these topics will find the most up-to-date information available in a highly organized and consistent format.

This periodical database is geared towards students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

Infotrac Student Edition  Connect from Home or the Library
This database is geared towards high school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

International Wildlife  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
This reference source focuses on the physical features and lifestyles of species from every branch of the animal family, with special attention given throughout to taxonomic relations.

This database is geared toward students in kindergarten through grade 5.  It features a visually graphic interface, a subject based topic tree, and age appropriate journal and newspaper articles.

Learning Express Library  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number.)
Practice taking the SAT, AP exams, civil service exams, real estate, middle school skills improvement, resume and interviewing success skills, and much more.  You will be prompted to set up a username and password to save your tests from session to session.





MISCELLANEOUS

Massachusetts Special Collections Directory Connect from the Library | Connect from Home
The "Manuscropts, Archives, and Special Collections Directory" profiles collections in more than 650 Massachusetts libraries, archives, historical societies and town clerk's offices.  The directory provides information about the institution, contacts, services available and volume of material, as well as directions to the repository.

Search the catalogs of libraries worldwide!






ALPHABETICAL LISTING OF DATABASES

Access Newspaper Archive  Connect from the Library|This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library. Contains the full text of thousands of historical newspapers (including the Lowell Sun from 1879-2007 and the Boston Globe from 1903-1922) from Massachusetts, the United States, and some foreign countries.

American Ancestors (formerly called New England Ancestors)  Connect from the Library|This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
Search a variety of genealogical resources specific to New England including: Massachusetts Vital Records through 1910, New York Probate Records (1787-1835), Social Security Death Index, church records, census, tax, and voter lists, diaries and journals, land records, military records, and published genealogies and biographies.

America's Obituaries and Death Notices Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search a large collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.  Includes obituaries from the Boston Globe (1980-present) as well as many other newspapers from around the country.

Ancient and Medieval World   Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
An absorbing resource that examines world history from the emergence of the earliest humans about two million years ago through the end of the middle ages.

Auto Repair Reference Center  Connect from the Library|  Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Contains information on most major manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.

Biography in Context   Connect from Home or the Library
Search biographical information for literary figures, science, multicultural studies, business, entertainment, politics, sports, government, history, current events, and the arts.

Books & Authors offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over 140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award winner and librarian’s favorites lists, Books & Authors helps bring readers and literature together. This database answers the question- "What do I read next?"

Boston Globe Historical Archives (1872-1981) Connect from the Library | This database is only available from computer terminals within the Library.
Includes full-text and article images from 1872-1981.

Boston Herald   Connect from Home or the Library (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Boston Herald from 7/26/1991 to the present.

Search the full text of The Boston Globe from 1980 to the present.

Business Insights:Essentials Connect from Home or the Library
Business Insights:Essentials is a fully integrated resource bringing together company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals.Search this electronic resource to find detailed company and industry news and information.

Business Directory- United States/Reference USA Connect from the Library |Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory containing over 14 million U.S. businesses.

Canadian Business Directory/ Reference USA Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory containing over 1.5 million Canadian businesses.

Canadian Residential Directory  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Searchable directory of over 12 million Canadian residents.

Consumer Reports Online  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number and select Consumer Reports)
Search 1000+ ratings, reviews, expert buying advice, product comparisons, consumer user reviews, and product video clips on everything from baby gear to SUVs.

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select-Infotrac Connect from Home or the Library
An extensive collection of more than 11,000 critical essays on contemporary authors.  Contains biographical information, list of written works, criticism, and sources for further study.

CorpTech Directory/Reference USA  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Access detailed information on executives at 95,000 high tech companies.

Cypress Resume Connect from Home or the Library(Enter your Westford Library card number)
A resume building database which quickly helps you create a professional looking resume and cover letter in a matter of minutes.
1. Enter your name, contact information, work history and education.  2.Choose the title of your desired job or simply the skill set you wish to highlight. 3.  Finally, choose from a collection of concise and professional job statements.

EDUCATOR'S REFERENCE COMPLETE Connect from Home or the Library
A collection of periodicals and reports for educational research from preschool to college covering technology, health, and bilingual education, testing, and issues in administration, funding, and policy.

Encyclopedia Britannica  Connect from the Library |Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Explore the updated online encylopedia with hundreds of thousands of articles, biographies, videos, images, and web sites.

eSequels-The Online Guide to Series Fiction Connect from Home or the Library(Enter your Westford Library card number)
You no longer have to guess at the order of a particular adult fiction series! Search by author, title, character, location, subject, or keyword.  Series are listed in order and annotations of the titles are provided.  Check out "What's New" and click on "Forthcoming" or "New Adds" to see newly added titles/series or to find out what will be published by your favorite series author in the upcoming months.

Expanded Academic Index ASAP Connect from Home or the Library
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology. This database meets research needs across all academic disciplines.  Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers, many with full text images.

Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Connect from the Library |Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Profiles over 2,000 jobs in 90+ industries. Find in-depth job descriptions, job specific resource listings, industry descriptions, career preparation information, and web resources.

Food and Nutrition  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
A comprehensive resource designed to help people make healthful and safe personal choices about all aspects of food and nutrition.

Gale Virtual Reference Library  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home
Over 20 full text reference books covering the arts, biography, business, environment, history, literature, medicine, multicultural studies, geography, and science.

General Business File-Infotrac Connect from Home or the Library
Research the latest trends in management, economics, and company performance.  Access the full-text of trade publications, journals, newspapers and more.

General Reference Center Gold  Connect from Home or the Library
Search full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books containing information on current events, popular culture, the arts and sciences, sports, etc.

Global Issues In Context  Connect from Home or the Library
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.

Global Road Warrior Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
The Global Road Warrior is a comprehensive business travel, telecommunications and business culture reference covering 175 countries. Business travelers, travel planners, international communicators and businesspeople who need extensive coverage of these topics will find the most up-to-date information available in a highly organized and consistent format.

Great American Authors  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)

A user-friendly resource that introduces readers to the lives and works of nearly one hundred of the most talented North American writers of the present and the past.

Great World Writers Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
The lives and works of nearly one hundred of the most influential international writers of the modern era, whose origins range from Britain to South Africa, from Japan to Poland, and dozens of nations in between.

Healthcare Directory/Reference USA   Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Large directory of doctors and dentists throughout the U.S.

Health Reference Center Academic  Connect from Home or the Library
Search the full text of nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, medical reference books, and health pamphlets.

Health and Wellness Resource Center  Connect from Home or the Library
Search health/medical journals, pamphlets, health related videos, and selected reference titles.

HeritageQuest Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
This genealogy database includes the U.S. federal census, family genealogies, local histories, tax lists, vital records, city directories, land and probate records, genealogical and local history serials and more!

This periodical database is geared towards students in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

Infotrac Student Edition  Connect from Home or the Library
This database is geared towards high school students with access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports, and more.

International Wildlife  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
This reference source focuses on the physical features and lifestyles of species from every branch of the animal family, with special attention given throughout to taxonomic relations.

This database is geared toward students in kindergarten through grade 5.  It features a visually graphic interface, a subject based topic tree, and age appropriate journal and newspaper articles.

Learning Express Library  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number.)
Practice taking the SAT, AP exams, civil service exams, real estate, middle school skills improvement, resume and interviewing success skills, and much more.  You will be prompted to set up a username and password to save your tests from session to session.

Literature Resource Center   Connect from Home or the Library
Find up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world.

Lowell Sun Connect from Home or the Library (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of The Lowell Sun from 2001 to the present.

Magill's Medical Guide Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Magill's "Medical Guide" is designed to "bridge the gap between medical encyclopedias for professionals and popular self-help guides." Covering diseases, disorders, treatments, procedures, specialties, anatomy, biology and issues; recent developments are discussed. More than 1,000 essays ranging in length from 500 to 3,500 words are illustrated with more than 400 photographs and illustrations such as "The Major Bones of the Human Skeleton."

Massachusetts History Online  Connect from Home or the Library
Contains full text articles gathered from almost 50 sources that directly relate to Massachusetts.

Massachusetts Special Collections Directory Connect from the Library | Connect from Home
The "Manuscripts, Archives, and Special Collections Directory" profiles collections in more than 650 Massachusetts libraries, archives, historical societies and town clerk's offices.  The directory provides information about the institution, contacts, services available and volume of material, as well as directions to the repository.

Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Biographical and critical essays on the men and women who made an impact on music from 1901 to 2000. Once you are in the database, click on BOOKS to see the full listing of resources included in the database.

Search the full text of the New York Times from 1980 to the present.

A reader's advisory database which helps readers find lists of works by a particular author, helps identify similar authors and titles, series lists, and selected book discussion guides.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context Connect from Home or the Library
Opposing Viewpoints in Context contains information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.

Popular Contemporary Writers  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)

The lives and works of nearly one hundred of the world's most-read popular writers of the present and recent past.

Safari Books  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Access the full text of over 5,000 technology books on a variety of topics including programming, databases, web design, etc.  The books all have publication dates within the last three years and are published by major technology publishers such as Cisco Press, IBM PRess, O'Reilly, Prentice Hall, and many more.

Salem Health Cancer  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
An A to Z encyclopedia for patients, with information about 835 topics in cancer. Coverage includes diseases, conditions, medications, procedures, specialists, social issues, personal coping tips, print and online academic resources, and support resources.

Salem Press History   Connect from the Library |  Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Reference sets The Fifities, Sixties, Seventies, Eighties, and Nineties in America, Historical Encyclopedia of American Business, Milestone Documents in American History (inlcudes primary documents),Milestone Documents of American Leaders (includes primary documents), and Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century. Once you are in the database, click on BOOKS to see the full listing of resources included in the database.

Find information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics.  Search full text magazines, academic journals, newspapers, and more.

Sharpe U.S. History and Culture Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Sharpe Reference sets Colonial Amercia, Encyclopedia of American Folklife, Encyclopedia of American Social Movements,  Encyclopedia of the Gilded and Age and Progressive Era, Encyclopedia of the Jazz Age, Postwar America, and Social Issues in America.

Transparent Language Online  Access from Home or the Library  (Enter your Westford Library card number to access from home) You will be prompted to set up a username and password to create an account so that your lessons will be saved. A powerful language-learning service with over 90 language options. It uses flashcards to teach you a set of words or phrases and features listening, reading, speaking, and writing exercises, as well as integrated pronunciation analysis, vocabulary acquisition exercises, conversational language courses, video grammar lessons, and a robust social community.  Use the “Go Mobile” button to access on Ipads, Ipods, Iphones, and Androids.

Universal Class  First Time Users-Register Here |Returning Users-Sign in Now
Westford card holders have access to Universal Class which provides over 500 FREE on-line Continuing Education Courses! Take an on-line class on Career Development, Early Childhood Development, Domestic Violence Counseling,  Basic Accounting, Microsoft Excel, GED Training, Home Ownership, How to Can, Freeze, Dry, and Preserve Food, Italian Cooking, and so many more!  These are non-credit courses for personal enrichment.  You can enroll in up to 5 courses at a time and you have six months to complete the class. Access your course and complete assignments any time day or night.  Each course has a real instructor who you can communicate with via e-mail.

U.S. History in Context  Connect from Home or the Library
Contents include U.S. historical topics from pre-colonial times to the present. Search a broad collection of U.S. facts, primary documents, full text journals, and articles from a variety of reference works.

U.S. Residential Directory Connect from the Library | Connect from Home(Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search this database of 135 million U.S. residents to conduct market research or locate family and friends.

Value Line Investment Survey and Small and Mid Cap Edition Database
Connect from the Library   |  Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number and password)

The Weekly Value Line Investment Survey is one of the most widely used independent investment information services in the world.  Its up-to-date issues are a comprehensive reference that has useful information for virtually every investor. Every week, about 135 stocks in seven or eight industries are covered.  The Small and Mid-Cap Edition features consensus earnings estimates for many companies, a business description of each company, including recent corporate developments, and Value Line's Performance Ranks, designed to predict relative price performance over the next six to 12 months.  In addition to coming into the Library each week to read the print edition, Westford card holders can now access the full editions on-line through this exciting new database!

Westford Eagle  Connect from the Library | Connect from Home (Enter your Westford Library card number)
Search the full text of the Westford Eagle from 8/11/2005 to the present.

World History in Context Connect from Home or the Library
Contents include information on hundreds of the most significant people, events and topics in World History.  Search articles, reference books, primary source documents, newspapers, etc.

Search the catalogs of libraries worldwide!






J.V. Fletcher Library | 50 Main Street | Westford, MA 01886-2599
978-692-5555 | www.westfordlibrary.org