Accessing the On-line Databases:
You will need your J.V. Fletcher
Library Card Number to log onto the databases. Type in
your Library barcode number without any spaces between the digits.
Databases Arranged By
Subject
American Business Directory (via Reference USA)
American Business Directory-click here to access outside the
Library.(via Reference USA)
The Business Directory contains millions of records of public and
private businesses. You can search by geographic location, employee
size, line of business, SIC, etc. The Residential Directory allows
you to access the residential phone numbers and addresses of people
nationwide. Please
note remote access to the Business Directory is provided by the J.V.
Fletcher Library and can only be accessed with a
Westford card
number.
America's Obituaries & Death Notices The largest and most
comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices.
Extensive editorial review of all newspaper sections ensures
thorough selection of obituaries for easy access. An easy-to-use
interface allows searching by name, date range, or text such as
institutional name, social affiliation(s), geographic location(s),
philanthropic activities, etc. Includes obituaries from the Boston
Globe 1980-current as well as many other newspapers from around the
country.
Ancestry.com Library Edition
- This database is available from terminals within the Library.
This extensive genealogy database includes over 1.5
billion names. Search records from the United States Census,
military records, court, land, and probate records, vital and church
records, passenger lists and more!
Auto Repair-EBSCO (access from the
Library)
Auto
Repair-EBSCO (access from Home)
The Auto Repair Reference Center contains
information on most major
manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles , with repair
information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
Big
Chalk (previously called Electric Library)Databases
include:
(click here to access from the Library)
- Wide selection of full-text sources
from Popular Magazines and Academic Journals, Current Newspapers
and News Wires, Television and Radio Transcripts, Photographs
and Maps, Children's Publication, Reference and Historical
Sources.
Big
Chalk (previously called Electric Library)
(click here from Home)
Boston Globe -Historical
Archives 1872-1922 THIS DATABASE CAN
ONLY BE ACCESSED FROM THE LIBRARY.
EBSCOhost click here to
access from the Library.
EBSCOhost-click here to access from
locations outside of the Library.
EBSCOhost databases include Auto Repair
Reference Center, Literary Reference Center and Novelist.
- Auto Repair Reference
Center-The
Auto Repair Reference Center contains
information on most major
manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles , with repair
information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1945.
- Literary Reference Center-
Includes information on authors, literary criticism, full text
of selected literary reference books, and author interviews.
- Novelist-Is an electronic
readers' advisory resource which assists fiction readers in
finding new authors and titles. Through its attractive and
easy-to-use interface, NoveList allows readers to use a favorite
author or title as a template to locate other authors and titles
of interest. NoveList contains materials for all ages including
picture books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles,
and books for adult readers.
Grolier Online Databases
includes:
Grolier Online- click here to access from
locations outside of the Library.
- Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia -
intended for students in middle school and up and as a quick
reference look-up tool for public library patrons of all ages.
- New Book of Knowledge - suitable for
grade 3 and up as well as ESL. Provides description of complex
subjects in an easy-to-understand manner.
- The New Book of Popular Science -
In-depth Science, plus Science in the News for Middle and High
Schools.
SciClopedia: Features 400 articles on science,
technology, and medical tips.
NewsBytes: Three top science stories every week, plus
updates and lesson plans.
Science Projects: 60 hands-on experiments that relate
directly to science lessons, with links to related encyclopedia
articles.
Biographies: More than 2,000 stories of science's
greatest personalities are easy to find and browse by subject.
SciZone: Science-inspired games, puzzles, and
brainteasers rotate every two weeks.
SciFiles: A science fact finder with measurement
conversions, science tables and charts, and interactive Periodic
Table of Elements, sources for further reading, and Nobel Prize
winners.
Sky Watch: a detailed guide to weekly happening in the
night skies.
InfoTrac WEB (click here to
access from the Libary)
InfoTrac WEB (click
here to access from locations outside of the Library)
Databases include:
- Academic Onefile, Biography Resource
Center, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Educator's Reference
Complete, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Business File ASAP,
General Reference Center Gold, Health Reference Center Academic,
Infotrac Junior, Infotrace Onefile, Infotrac Student, Kids
Infobits and Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Learn a Test
(This database is available for Westford patrons.)
This is a
unique test taking database. Practice taking the SAT, AP exams,
GED, Civil Service exams, real estate, middle school skills
improvement, resume and interviewing success skills and many other
types of tests. If you are connecting from home, you will need your
library card number.
Massachusetts Special
Collections Directory
- is a Web-based database of over 600
institutions, including academic, public, and special libraries
, town halls, museums, and historical societies.
NetLibrary-CLick
here to access from within the Library.
NetLibrary-CLick here to access from locations outside of the
Library.
- Read selected book son-line!
NetLibrary has a collection of full-text books available via the
web. Once you set up an account, you can check books out from
the on-line collection and read them from your computer.
NewsBank
- (Please note: access
to the Boston Globe and Boston Herald are now available through
Proquest, please follow the link below to access them.)
Access the full text of the
Lowell Sun
and the
New York Times
(including the New York Times Book Review and New York Times
Magazine).
-Please
note remote access to the Lowell Sun and New York Times are
provided by the J.V. Fletcher Library and can only be accessed
with a Westford card number.
Northeast Massachusetts Digital Library (NMDL)
The Northeast Massachusetts Digital Library or "NMDL" is a
project to enhance access to an ever-growing digital collection of
items, located in or items related to northeast Massachusetts. We
are defining northeast Massachusetts as the
54 towns within
the service
area of the Northeast Massachusetts Regional Library
System (NMRLS). For more information click
FAQ
NoveList -click
here to access from locations within the Library
Novelist
- click here to access from locations outside the Library.
- Is an electronic readers' advisory
resource which assists fiction readers in finding new authors
and titles. Through its attractive and easy-to-use interface,
NoveList allows readers to use a favorite author or title as a
template to locate other authors and titles of interest.
NoveList contains materials for all ages including picture
books, children's "chapter" books, young adult titles, and books
for adult readers.
Proquest Massachusetts Newsstand
(access from the
Library)
Proquest
Massachusetts Newsstand
(access from
home)
Access the full text of the Boston Globe,
Boston Herald, Berkshire Eagle, BusinessWest(Chicopee), Lowell Sun,
North Adams Transcript, Patriot Ledger(Quincy), Plymouth County
Business Review, Sentinel & Enterprise (Fitchburg), Telegram and
Gazette(Worcester), Gazette (Haverhill), and Standard
Times(New Bedford)
Rosetta Stone This
database can be accessed from the
Library or home with your Library barcode number. The first time
you use the database, you will be asked to create a username and
password. Use this interactive database to learn how to speak
English (U.S.), English (U.K.), French, German, Italian, Russian,
Spanish (Latin America), and Spanish (Spain). The database teaches
language through reading and listening comprehension,
voice-record/speech recognition, and dictation and spelling
exercises.
Worldcat-click here
to access from locations in the Library-
Search the catalogs of
Libraries worldwide!
WorldCat - click here to access from
locations outside of the Library
Updated
03/14/2008
Kristina Leedberg, Head of Information Services
|